Regional Groups with Essex Representatives


403 Queen City Park Road
South Burlington, VT

A union of nine municipalities whose purpose is to provide water to its members.

Specific Roles of Commissioners:
   ~ Make policy on operations and water rates.
   ~ Authorizes the borrowing of funds.
   ~ Approve budget.
   ~ Approve union and personnel contracts.
   ~ Hire and fire General Manager.

Term: 3 years

Representative (Elected)

Aaron Martin
Greg Duggan, Alternate

Twelve systems in nine communities located in South Burlington, Shelburne, Williston, Essex, Essex Junction, Colchester, Winooski, Milton and the Village of Jericho. 


110 West Canal Street, Suite 202
Winooski, VT  05404

The mission of the Commission is to educate, forge and strengthen community partnerships to achieve a vision for the County through a strong regional planning process. The Commission is also responsible for preparation and implementation of a regional plan and providing technical assistance to communities on a variety of planning issues.

The Commission’s main purpose is to foster communication, cooperation and coordination among the 19 local units of government in Chittenden County.  The Commission promotes coordinated development of the region and prepares and adopts plans, policies and strategies for the region.

The Chittenden County Metropolitan Planning Organization, which is the transportation policy and planning agency for Chittenden County, is part of CCRPC.

Specific roles of Commissioners:
   ~ Determining CCRPC’s annual budget and program.
   Review and comment on federal funds allocated to the region.
   Set regional policies and approve local plans in accordance with state statutes.
   Decide on CCRPC’s applications for federal and state funds.
   Recommend changes in Vermont and/or federal laws.
   Work with staff and/or through committees on special regional or local projects and studies.
   Review applications under Vermont’s Land Use and Development Law (Act 250, Section 248) by setting policies.
   ~ Participates in Council of Regional Commissions

Term: 2 years


Andrew Watts, Board of Directors
Tracey Delphia, Alternate

Aaron Martin, Transportation Advisory Committee
Annie Costandi, Alternate

Annie Costandi, Clean Water Advisory Committee
Aaron Martin, Alternate

Katherine Sonnick, Planning Advisory Committee
Kent Johnson, Alternate

Twenty-four members with five at large representing 19 towns: Bolton, Buels Gore, Burlington, Charlotte, Colchester, Essex, Essex Junction, Hinesburg, Huntington, Jericho, Milton, Richmond, St. George, Shelburne, So. Burlington, Underhill, Westford, Williston, Winooski.


110 West Canal Street, Suite 202
Winooski, VT  05404

A Communications Union District (CUD) is a municipal organization made of two or more towns for the purpose of building, or causing to be built, communication infrastructure together. CUDs may plan, contract, build, and manage the infrastructure that will provide high speed internet. The main function of the CUD would be to deliver public funds to the providers to build the network and to provide public oversight to ensure broadband service is provided to underserved locations at speeds of at least 100/100 Mbps in accordance with Act 71. By working together, municipalities are more likely to attract a provider and leverage financial resources. After the formation of the CUD, other municipalities can join with a vote of the Selectboard.

Term: 1 year
The CCCUD Board meets the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of the month at 3pm. 


Hubert Norton
Andrew Watts, Alternate


209 Redmond Road
Williston, VT 05495

The Chittenden Solid Waste District comprised of 17 area communities working collectively to provide for the county’s efficient, economical and environmentally sound management of solid waste owns and oversees 12 solid waste or recycling facilities in Chittenden County. A Board of Commissioners, who sets policy and oversees financial matters, governs CSWD.  One Commissioner is appointed by each member community. 

Specific Roles of Commissioners:
   ~ Identify the needs of those served by the District, and to represent the municipality’s interest in regional and state solid waste affairs.
   ~ Approve all district contracts.
   ~ Accept the budget for ratification by member municipalities.

Term: 2 years ending in May


Alan Nye

Sixteen members representing 16 municipalities:  Bolton, Burlington, Charlotte, Colchester, Essex, Essex Junction, Hinesburg, Huntington, Jericho, Milton, Richmond, St. George, Shelburne, South Burlington, Westford, Williston, Winooski.
The Village has a separate appointee.


GMT is governed by a 13 member Board of Commissioners with two Commissioners representing Burlington and one Commissioner from Essex, Hinesburg, Milton, Shelburne, South Burlington, Winooski, Williston, Washington County, Franklin County, Lamoille County and Grand Isle County. Each Chittenden County commissioner is appointed to the GMT Board by their municipality. Commissioners representing Washington, Franklin, Lamoille and Grand Isle Counties are appointed by the Regional Planning Commission in that county. Commissioners set Board goals annually and these long-term goals guide the General Manager of GMT and the priorities of the Authority for that Fiscal Year.

Term: 3 years


Paul Bohne

The GMT Board of Commissioners meet on the 3rd Tuesday of every month. Meetings are held at GMT’s administrative office, located at 101 Queen City Park Road in Burlington at 7:30 a.m. The public is welcome to attend these meetings and offer comments about GMT’s services.


294 North Winooski Ave.
Burlington, VT 05401

A cable television service for area municipalities for the purpose of televising public meetings and activities of the public boards and bodies.

Specific Roles of Trustees:
   ~ Attend monthly trustees meetings.
   ~ Serve on Programming or Finance Committees.
   ~ Cast votes on behalf of member municipality.
   ~ Make policy on operations and programming.
   ~ Represent Channel 17 to constituents.

Seven members represent seven communities:  Essex, Colchester, Burlington, Winooski, Williston, Essex Junction and So. Burlington.


Dawn Hill-Fleury


Ethan Allen Homestead
Burlington, VT 05401

The Winooski Valley Park District is a regional land trust whose mission is to preserve natural areas that are a short walk or bike from where people live and work. The District oversees 16 parks offering 28 miles of trails, picnic and gardening sports, canoe and fishing accesses and over 12 miles of shoreline. The Selectboard appoints one Trustee from Essex.

Specific Roles of Trustees:
   ~ Policy making board for park district staff on goals, planning, acquisition of lands, facilities development, outreach programs and budgeting.

Term: 1 year
Seven Members of Board of Trustees represent 7 municipalities:  So. Burlington, Williston, Winooski, Colchester, Jericho, Essex, Burlington


Jeffery Theis